The Chocolate Weekly 37 – 2015

And here we are with the third group of world’s best chefs who are sharing with us their love for chocolate:

 

Virgilio Martinez, Central restaurant (Lima, Peru)

CR-RETRATOS-VIRGILIO MARTINEZ-IMG_6672-021214

Virgilio Martinez. Photo: Central Comunicaciones

“There are many things I remember in detail from my childhood. One of them is the immediate association my mother created in me about chocolate and happiness. That is the way I see a nice piece of dark chocolate bar,  with the expectation of feeling just calm and relaxed,  after a long day of work.

Personally, getting to know the way a cacao tree grows and correlates with other trees and herbs made me love it even more. In different Northern regions of Peru grows a very aromatic cacao among mango and orange trees, right next to the Algarrobo’s area, where the sweetest mamey and paico emerge in the most deserted Peruvian soil. Amazing how such tropical species, like cacao, got comfortable in this system. The smell of fruit and fresh cacao pulp is unbelievable.”

 

 

Mattias Perdomo, Contraste (Milan, Italy)

Matias Perdomo. Photo: Courtesy of Al Pont de Ferr

Matias Perdomo. Photo: Courtesy of Al Pont de Ferr

“Chocolate means a lot to me. It is an amazing product, really versatile; it is an element that I like to use not only in desserts but also in savoury dishes because of the nice contrast you get through a bit of bitterness.

Chocolate can be totally different (changing consistency, flavour, shape) but it’s always great. What I really love about it is that it has the power to bring you back to the past. Everybody reacts to chocolate almost like children. That’s why I made a dessert shaped like Lego called “This is not a game. A kaleidoscope of childhood flavours”, the idea to make people laugh and relax without leaving the taste behind.”
 .
Gert de Mangeleer. Photo: Kristof Vrancken

Gert de Mangeleer. Photo: Kristof Vrancken

“I’m in love with chocolate since my childhood, but today I try to understand and recognize the different influences of the origin – chocolate terroir in taste and flavor.”
 .
Mauro Colagreco. Photo: courtesy of Mirazur

Mauro Colagreco. Photo: courtesy of Mirazur

“The meaning of chocolate changes depending of were you are coming from. Knowing the origin you should make a trip to that area to understand it and to get to know it. South America is full of chocolate, and of course for me, who was born there,  it is very special. It brings to my mind many beautiful memories from my childhood.”
 .
Richard Ekkebus. Photo: courtesy of Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong

Richard Ekkebus. Photo: courtesy of Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong

“Chocolate is a total comforting food for me. I have been a fan of it since young age, however since then the sugar content of my favorite chocolate choices has been considerably reduced. I still remember the time when my parents brought these huge and thick dark chocolate bars with whole roasted hazelnuts when they were back from travelling. I finished them in no time to the point of being sick. Those are my fondest sweet memories! I am a total chocaholic!”
 .
Picture 67

Eneko Atxa. Photo: courtesy of Eneko Atxa.

“For me, chocolate means most of all pleasure. In my childhood it also meant the way to be rewarded, it means sharing, friendship, a caress to the palate.”
 .
For more have a look at the first and the second part.
